Irritated

Today I was out looking for a tail coat because for my birthday this year I’m going to be going round town with my friends in fancy dress. Me and a couple of my friends are going to be dressed as slutty Batman villains and I’m going to be the penguin. So today I bought the most perfect tailcoat from a vintage shop for £40. If my husband Debbi had been there and not in Cornwall she’d probably have told me I had to get it. I also went into another vintage shop where they had cheap bowties and I picked up three. Anyway I went to the till and the man who served me asked if I were getting them for boys and I was like no they’re for me and he was like oh, when I went on to say they’re for fancy dress he suddenly didn’t think it was a big deal.

I’m sorry but am I not allowed to purchase bow ties without being asked questions? Am I not allowed to wear bow ties because I am female? Am I only allowed to wear such things a fancy dress? How about fuck you and your ideas. I bought a men’s tailcoat because at 5’10” and with my build they fit my shoulders and my long arms and this one cuts off at the perfect point to highlight my waist. And bows are generally seen as feminine. So why can a girl not purchase a bow tie for herself? I mean damn so masculine. What if I wanted to look masculine? I’d probably be even more offended right now. I’m sorry but who the fuck do you think you are to have ideas about what I should wear.

I also experienced something similar earlier on that day when I bought a man’s blue waistcoat because it actually fit me quite well. The lady who served me was talking about how it was an entire suit and it looked beautiful together before other parts had been sold. I said I could see how it would make a good suit. And she was like yeah a men’s suit not a women’s suit. Excuse me but I will buy a fucking men’s waistcoat if I want. I’m sorry for providing you with my custom. Next time maybe I won’t fucking bother. I mean I have the right to wear what I want. Or maybe I’m buying someone a present. Who the fuck do you think you are judging my purchases? I’m paying for it well then keep your opinions to yourself. I didn’t ask for them so shove them up your arse where they will never see the light of day. I shouldn’t have to explain myself or have comments made. I don’t judge the men I serve at work buying make up. Maybe they’re buying it for a female relative, a female friend, or a girlfriend/wife. Maybe they’re buying it for themselves. Is it my place to comment on it? No because if the customer want to talk about it they will. They have the right to buy the make up without receiving the Spanish Inquisition from me, also I don’t really care if the make ups for them or some female they know they have the right to buy that makeup without me judging them. But people who serve me seem to think that they have the right to comment that I’m buying men’s clothes. I will buy whatever I want. It fits me. I have bought it. It’s now my clothing. It doesn’t specifically belong to just the men. It belongs to me. Maybe you shouldn’t let your big mouth say the things you think with your small mind.

Yet another problem with being tall. Being a proportion that suits some men’s clothing is irritating when being served by people who feel the need to comment on your purchases. However I’m tall enough that the first tail coat I found fit me well, so I guess being tall has its up and its downs. However the vintage shop I got my tailcoat from has lovely staff who told me the tailcoat suited me and didn’t judge at all. That’s good customer service. Not informing me I’m purchasing items that are generally men’s clothing. I’m aware, I just don’t give a damn. If I only I could gutpunch those people. Oh well to take a line from the song Bad Reputation by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts “They’re living in the past it’s a new generation” and we’re a taller generation and I am around the average height of a man as opposed to the average height of a woman, so fuck people and their opinions on what I wear. I’m not a part of your system. I’M AN ADULT. I will buy whatever I want and wear what I want and if you have a problem with that then you live a sad life as the odds of me seeing you again are very low. I think my rant is done for now.

Leave a comment